Personal tools

Skip to content. | Skip to navigation

You are here: Home Research Research interests

Research interests

Prof. Dr. Schneider


List of English publications

Full list of publications (German)


  • Public law
  • German and European Information Law
  • European and Comparative Administrative Law
  • Infrastructural Law (in particular Energy and Telecommunication Law)
  • Public Economic Law and Environmental Law
  • Administrative Science


Research projects 


ongoing projects;

  • since 2015 member of the Academic Expert Group for Regulatory Issues at the Bundesnetzagentur (Federal Network Agency for Electricity, Gas, Telecommunications, Post and Railway) [Website]
  • since 2012 research fellow and since 2018 board member of the Centre for Security and Society at the University of Freiburg [Homepage]
  • since 2009: Coordinator of the Research Network on EU Administrative Law - ReNEUAL (in cooperation with Prof. Herwig Hofmann, Univ. Luxembourg) [homepage]



completed projects:

  • 2018-2019 member of the Government Commission "Competition Law 4.0" dealing with the adaptation of EU law to challenges in digital markets [Homepage]
  • 2017/18 member of the interdiscipliny working group "Social Innovations in Energy Policy Making" of the German Commitee of sustanainabilty research in Future Earth [Homepage]
  • 2012-2017: Co-head of the DFG-funded research project "legal requirements for the architecture of EU information systems as elements of administrative single-decision-making and norm-setting processes in the EU" (in cooperation with Prof. Dr. Herwig Hofmann, Univ. Luxembourg) [homepage]
  • 2013-2015: appointed as project reporter by the European Law Institute for the project „Towards Restatement and Best Practices Guidelines on EU Administrative Procedural Law“ [Homepage]
  • 2012--2016: Board member of the FMER-funded Competence Network for the right of civil security in Europe (KORSE) [homepage]
  • 2009-2012: Member of the interdisciplinary project “Energy Storages and Virtual Power Plants for the Integration of Renewable Energies into the Power Supply. Potentials, Innovation Barriers and Implementation Strategies” - Europäischen Akademie zur Erforschung von Folgen wissenschaftlich-technischer Entwicklungen (Bad Neuenahr, Germany) [homepage]
  • 2009: Member of the panel of experts on “priorities in energy research – socioscientific, humanistic, juridicial, economic and scientific system aspects” - Berlin-Brandenburg Academy of Sciences and the National Academy Leopoldina (Germany) [homepage]
  • 2007-2010: Member of the core team of the Osnabrück Jean Monnet Centre of Excellence in European Studies (scientific director: Prof. Dr. Ingeborg Tömmel) funded by the European Commission [homepage]
  • 2007: Co-applicant for the partnership between the European Legal Studies Institute, department “European Public Law”, and the chair of Administrative Law at the Kardynal Wyszynski Uniwersytet Warszawa (in cooperation with Prof. Dr. Irena Lipowicz) funded by the Alexander von Humboldt Foundation
  • 2007: Member of the panel of legal experts on the EuroSparks project on cross-border prosecution of traffic law violations (with Professor Patrick Birkinshaw (Hull, Research Director), Prof. Dr. Andrea Biondi (King's College London), Prof. Jean-Bernard Auby (Sciences Po, Paris), Dr mr. Mirjam Freudenthal (Universiteit Utrecht)) funded by the European Commission [homepage]
  • 2006-2010: Scientific director of the annual "International Seminar on European and Comparative Public Law" by the Universities of Birmingham, Freiburg (until 2010: Osnabrück), Strasbourg (until 2011, Orléans), Oxford and Tilburg [homepage]
  • 2006/2007: Scientific director of a German-Spanish research group “principles and procedures of the European administrative union” (in cooperation with Prof. Dr. Velasco, Madrid, funded by the DAAD and the Spanish Ministry of Research)
  • since 2005: Founding member of the international Dornburg Study Group, with its series of comparative law conferences “Transformation of Administrative Law in Europe” (Scientific Director: Prof. Dr. Ruffert) [homepage]
  • 2001-2006: Member of the working group “Spatial aspects of new developments relating the energy policy in the Federal Republic of Germany” - Academy for Spatial Research and Planning Hannover (Germany)
  • 2001-2002: Member of the panel of experts on “constitutional questions of embryo research and PGD” - Federal Ministry of Justice (Germany)